Slamdance 2019: Award Winners Announced

Slamdance 2019: Award Winners Announced 1
  • Save

The 2019 Slamdance Film Festival is rolling to a close and tonight the award winners from this year’s fest have been announced, with Nicole Brending‘s Dollhouse: The Eradication of Female Subjectivity in American Popular being awarded the jury prize for Narrative Feature.

Congratulations to all the winners, the full list of which is below. For more Slamdance goodies, check out the official site at

Jury Awards | Narrative Features
Narrative Feature Grand Jury Prize – Dollhouse: The Eradication of Female Subjectivity in American Popular Culture (Dir.: Nicole Brending)
Honorable Mentions: Cat Sticks (Dir.: Ronny Sen)

Jury Awards | Documentary Features, Documentary Shorts
Documentary Feature Grand Jury Prize – Kifaru (Dir.: David Hambridge)
Honorable Mention – Markie in Milwaukee (Dir.: Matt Kliegman)
Documentary Short Grand Jury Prize – Tungrus (Dir.: Rishi Chandna)
Honorable Mention: Las Del Diente (Dir.: Ana Perez Lopez)

Jury Awards – Narrative Shorts
Narrative Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Woman In Stall (Dir.: Madeleine Sims-Fewer and Dusty Mancinelli)
Honorable Mention: East of the River (Dir.: Hannah Peterson)

Jury Awards – Experimental Shorts/ Animated Shorts
Experimental Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Wayward Emulsions (Dir.: Tina Takemoto)
Honorable Mention: Applied Pressure (Dir.: Kelly Sears)

Animated Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Shalva (Tranquility) (Dir.: Danna Windsor)
Honorable Mention: Bloeistraat 11 directed (Dir.: Nienke Deutz)

Slamdance Acting Award:
Siyabonga Majola (We Are Thankful)

Slamdance Acting Award Honorable Mention:
Aya Kitai (Demolition Girl)
Lauren McCune (Ready for Love)

George Starks Spirit of Slamdance Award Winner:
Nicole Brending (dir. Of Dollhouse: The Eradication of Female Subjectivity in American Popular Culture)

CreativeFuture Innovation Award:
Bloeistraat 11 (Dir.: Nienke Deutz)

The Russo Brothers Fellowship Award Winner:
Hannah Peterson, dir. of East of the River

Audience Awards:
Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature: The Vast of Night (Dir.: Andrew Patterson)
Audience Award for Documentary Feature: Kifaru (Dir.: David Hambridge)
Audience Award for Beyond Feature: Ski Bum: The Warren Miller Story (Dir.: Patrick Creadon)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.