Slamdance 2020: Award Winners Announced

Slamdance 2020: Award Winners Announced 1
  • Save

Slamdance 2020 is winding down and with that the award winners for this year’s festival have been revealed. Heather Young‘s wonderful Murmur won the Jury Award for Narrative Feature, with Hasan Oswald‘s Higher Love winning the Jury Award for Documentary Feature. Click here to check out all of our Slamdance coverage, including our podcast where we discuss award winners Murmur and Residue.

Take a look below for the full list of winners via: Variety

Jury Awards | Narrative Features

Narrative Feature Grand Jury Prize – Murmur (Dir.: Heather Young)

Honorable Mentions: Residue (Dir.: Merawi Gerima)

Jury Awards | Documentary Features, Documentary Shorts

Documentary Feature Grand Jury Prize – Higher Love (Dir.: Hasan Oswald)

Honorable Mention – Maxima (Dir.: Claudia Sparrow)

Documentary Short Grand Jury Prize – To Calm the Pig Inside (Dir.: Joanna Vasquez Arong)

Honorable Mention: Umbilical (Dir.: Danski Tang) and My Favorite Food is Indian Tacos, my Favorite Drink is Iced Tea and my Favorite Thing is Drumming (Dir.: Derius Matchewan)

Jury Awards – Narrative Shorts

Narrative Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Moving (Dir.: Adinah Dancyger)

Honorable Mention: Proof (Dir.: Nishtha Jain, Deepti Gupta)

Jury Awards – Experimental Shorts/ Animated Shorts

Experimental Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Shooting Stars (Dir.: Magda Jaroszewicz)

Honorable Mention: Meteorite (Dir.: Mauricio Saenz)

Animated Shorts Grand Jury Prize: The Little Soul (Dir.: Barbara Rupik)

Honorable Mention: Symbiosis (Dir.: Nadja Andrasev)

Slamdance Acting Award:

Obinna Nwachukwu (Residue)

Slamdance Acting Award Honorable Mention:

Maya Harman (Chubby)

George Starks Spirit of Slamdance Award Winner:

Yani Gellman of Greetings, from the Planet Krog!

CreativeFuture Innovation Award:

The Little Soul (Dir.: Barbara Rupik)

The AGBO Fellowship, presented by Joe and Anthony Russo, Award Winner:

Carlota Pereda, (Dir.:PIGGY)

Audience Awards:

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature: Residue (Dir.: Merawi Gerima)

Audience Award for Documentary Feature: Bastards’ Road (Dir.: Brian Morrison)

Best of Breakouts Audience Award: Shoot to Marry (Dir.: Steve Markle)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.