Cinepocalypse 2018: Award Winners Announced

Cinepocalypse 2018: Award Winners Announced 1
  • Save
Chicago’s Cinepocalypse is coming to a close and today the award winners for this year’s festival have been announced. Robert Schwentke‘s The Captain won Best Film, Matt Leslie and Stephen Smith won Best Screenplay for Summer of ’84, and Joko Anwar won Best Director for Satan’s Slaves.

To read all our coverage from this year’s Cinepocalypse, click here, and take a look at the full list of winners below.

The Music Box Theatre is honored to announce the juried winners of the 2018 edition of Cinepocalypse. As the festival wraps today, it is also immensely proud to note that, in its sophomore year, the festival shattered its first year attendance record, and won accolades for its progressive, boundary-pushing, and phenomenal programming and guests.

The festival’s feature film jury, which was co-chaired by DOCTOR STRANGE director Scott Derrickson, screenwriter C. Robert Cargill, and Deputy Director of the Illinois Film Office Louis Ferrara have awarded “Best Film” to Robert Schwentke’s riveting World War II thriller THE CAPTAIN; “Best Screenplay” to Matt Leslie and Stephen Smith for their retro throwback mystery SUMMER OF ’84; and “Best Director” to Joko Anwar for his horrific, electrifying take on the haunted house genre, SATAN’S SLAVES (PENGABDI SETAN).

Additional feature awards were given to Joe Cole, for “Best Actor” in A PRAYER BEFORE DAWN, and Paula Niedert Elliott, for “Best Actress” in CLARA’S GHOST. The festival bestowed LUCIFERINA an award for “Best Sexorcism Scene” and HEAVY TRIP (HEVI REISSU) their “Best Discovery” prize. The Audience Award was given to Johnny Kevorkian’s AWAIT FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.